Thursday, May 11, 2006

Meditating on the Virtues of the Holy Rosary--The Luminous Mysteries

In the papal document ROSARIUM VIRGINIS MARIAE, Pope John Paul II declared October 2002 – October 2003 The Year of the Rosary and proposed 5 new mysteries reflecting on the public life of Christ.

This new cycle of mysteries, which in a sense, complete the rosary as a prayerful meditation on the entire life of Christ will, no doubt, go down in Church history as one of the late pontiff's greatest contributions to Catholic spirituality.

Luminous Mysteries

1. The Baptism of Our Lord.
Virtue: Rebirth in Christ. Fidelity to one's vocation

2. The Wedding at Cana.
Virtue: Trust in the Lord and His Mother.

3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom.
Virtue: Perseverance. Evangelization. Conversion of heart

4. The Transfiguration of Our Lord.
Virtue: Reverence. Unity with God and His Will.

5. The Institution of the Eucharist.
Virtue: Devotion to and reverence for the Blessed Sacrament.

No comments:

Dymphna's favorite quotes

"Slavery ended in medieval Europe only because the church extended its sacraments to all slaves and then managed to impose a ban on the enslavement of Christians (and of Jews). Within the context of medieval Europe, that prohibition was effectively a rule of universal abolition. "— Rodney Stark

my poetry on the web

Karumi Garden

Karumi Garden
my haiku